Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About Macon Transit

Mission Statement

As the official public transportation provider in Macon-Bibb County, Georgia, we are committed to providing safe, high quality, dependable, and affordable service to citizens and visitors to our community with courtesy and professionalism.


Racial Equity, Diversity & Inclusion Statement:

The history of public transportation and racial equity, diversity, and inclusion are deeply intertwined. From the Montgomery Bus Boycott to redlined inner-city homes and businesses that were razed in preparation for the creation of the interstate highway system, public transportation has played a vital role in the development and growth of our nation.

Macon-Bibb County Transit Authority is committed to advancing spatial equity by providing equitable access to public spaces and streets through transit-oriented solutions. Above and beyond our public pledge is the commitment to make internal adjustments that address racial equity, diversity, and inclusion within our Authority and in our community.

Standing in solidarity with agencies and communities across our nation we acknowledge that injustice and racism exist and we will invest the time and resources to create opportunities for those most affected by racism. We pledge to work toward creating  a community in which race and ethnicity do not determine or limit value, opportunity, or life outcomes.


Macon-Bibb County Transit Authority is Committed to Five Principles

  1. Acknowledgement – We acknowledge the existence of racial inequality and are committed to eliminating disparity by continually reassessing how our investments in public transit and transportation address racial equality.
  2. Investment – We are dedicated to investing time and resources to create greater opportunities through our Disadvantaged Business Enterprise program.
  3. Listening – It has been said those closest to the problem are closest to the solution, but furthest from resources and power, therefore MTA vows to encourage constructive dialogue within our community as we address diversity, equity and inclusion.
  4. Engagement – We will seek to affect change while being as inclusive as possible, dedicating ourselves to engagement with a variety of social identities.
  5. Movement not a Moment – Macon-Bibb County Transit Authority staff is united in creating opportunities not determined nor predicted by race, racial bias, or racial ideology. The structures, systems, practices, and cultural narratives in our organization will provide true situational fairness and equal opportunity.


The Deloitte Insight Diversity and Inclusion Maturity Scale

has provided insight and context for MTA’s recent organizational restructure and the development of the Office of Planning and Engagement. The office will be committed to creating equitable access to opportunities through public transit. The Macon Bibb County Transit Authority is proud to unite behind a common goal to create equal opportunity and social, racial, and economic justice.

History of MTA

Georgia Power Company operated a street railway system in Macon for many years. Gradually, the rail system changed from rail lines to bus lines. With citizens’ preference for bus service, all remaining rail lines were abandoned in 1938.

In June 1949, the rail system was purchased by a private owner and named the Bibb Transit Company. In 1973, the City of Macon purchased the Bibb Transit Company and managed it until 1981 when the Macon-Bibb County Transit Authority was formed, pursuant to an Act known as the “Macon-Bibb County Transit Authority Act of 1980,” approved March 26, 1980 (Ga. L. 1980, p. 4313).

Please call 711 for Telecommunications Relay Service

MTA Board Members

The Authority’s governing board consists of seven (7) individuals appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the Macon-Bibb County Board of Commissioners.  Two of the seven members shall be a transit rider, one fixed route rider and one Paratransit rider.

Craig Ross

Craig Ross

President & CEO

Louis Frank Tompkins

Louis Frank Tompkins


Lynn Farmer

Lynn Farmer

Vice-Chair, Board Member

Dave Dickey

Dave Dickey

Board Member

Rachel Umana

Rachel Umana

Board Member

Charles Murphy

Charles Murphy

Board Member

Deborah Garcia

Deborah Garcia

Board Member

Board Meetings

Typically, the Macon-Bibb County Transit Authority Board meets at 5:30 p.m. on the last Tuesday of each month in the third-floor conference room of the Terminal Station.

The public is invited to attend meetings, and citizens may address the board with a “public comment,” which can be a suggestion, question, concern, or compliment.

Anyone interested in addressing the board will have up to five (5) minutes to speak. In the interest of fairness and efficiency, remarks are timed. MTA suggests that a speaker prepares remarks before arrival to maximize speaking time.

Our next


TUESDAY, February 27th, at 5:30 p.m.

Terminal Station – 4th Floor
in the Morris M. Cohen Conference Room

A Public Comment Sign-In Sheet is available at each meeting. As a convenience, click here to complete in advance.

More Information

Bus Routes

MTA operates 11 routes and never missed a day of service during the COVID-19 pandemic. Several Express transits are available.


MTA offers specialized non-emergency service for persons who are unable to travel using normal bus services.

Paratransit information & the MTA disability application available below.

Media Releases

Click below to follow the work and activities of the MTA. Also, follow MTA's Facebook page.


Crown Jewel

of  Downtown